Freelance worker - how does GST work?
Blaaarghrgahgrhagh!

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Bondia

Posted 10 February 2011 - 09:15 PM

Ok - I'm TOTALLY new at this and could really use some help!!! Hopefully these are very easy questions!

I did 2 hours' copywriting work this week for a large organisation, and they agreed to pay me an hourly rate. I am to invoice them for the work. (Their words: "You will need to send us a Tax Invoice ie GST and your ABN number")

I have an ABN (from many years ago which I haven't used yet but is still active).

So - What do I do now?

Do I just make up an invoice document with the total amount?
Or do I need to write something on the invoice to do with GST?
Would I just write the total amount and put "Including GST"?

(I really don't get the whole GST thing, although I know I don't need to 'register' for it unless I earn $75k - which I won't).

Presumably then I just include this amount as part of my income during tax time? Or do I need to do some sort of other tax documentation (BAS or something?)

Is there anything else I need to do? Or know?

I may do more of this kind of work so I want to make sure I understand what I need to do. I've been looking online but I confess a lot of the businessy stuff has gone over my head!

Any help greatly appreciated!

Thks.

#2 Georgette47

Posted 10 February 2011 - 09:25 PM

The invoice needs to include the words 'Tax invoice' on it.
Just charge for the total amount - e.g. 2 hours @ $xx per hour.
Don't charge for, include or mention GST at all. If you are not registered for GST you can't charge for it - which makes things heaps simpler for you!

Good luck with the work.

#3 *purple*

Posted 10 February 2011 - 09:28 PM

You need to be registered for GST in order to send tax invoices. If you are not registered for GST you can just give them an invoice (not a tax invoice) and note at the bottom that no GST has been charged.

You will need to put your abn on the invoice though.