Help me write a letter about late daycare fees to parents

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Oceana79

Posted 18 November 2011 - 08:43 PM

I do family daycare and a LOT of parents aren't paying me. I am not good at asking for money but would like to put a notice out to all families about fees basically stating I love looking after their children but am also running a business and when I don't receive fees off several parents it makes it very hard for my family to pay our bills and hard for me to buy supplies for daycare. But I want it to sound professional. I have 14 yrs exp in daycare and a Diploma in Children's Services so am a Professional. Can anyone help me write this personally an to sound nice but professional.

#2 Not Escapin Xmas

Posted 18 November 2011 - 08:54 PM

Do you have a policy? Because that can be the easiest way to do it, and then you have something to point to when it gets tough. Ie something like, once you're two weeks behind, you can't drop the kids off at daycare again until you're up to date...

So then, you send a note home to all parents stating the policy, then wait maybe 1 week for all the laggards to cough up the cash, and then start refusing to take their kids. When they complain, you just look sad and say sorry, but you're sticking to the policy.

I wouldn't get into why you need the money, as you're supplying a service, and you should be paid appropriately for it.

As for the actual note, something like:

'Dear Parents

Thank you for your business this year. As it's the end of the year, I thought it timely to remind you of our policy regarding payment, which is:

"Policy here"

As a number of families are currently behind on payments, I have no choice but to enforce this policy, starting XX November.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to give me a call on XXXX XXXX.

Kind regards
Your name

#3 anna_garny

Posted 18 November 2011 - 08:55 PM