Non-vaccinated kids - how does it impact your life?

• Please log in to reply
82 replies to this topic

#1 Emily Thorne

Posted 10 January 2012 - 06:31 PM

Hi,

I am posting in this section so as not to start a great debate, but more to ask those who have chosen not to vaccinate (for whatever reason) how it has affected their lives, in a practical sense?

I have a friend who is about to have her first child and who is considering not vaccinating. My kids are vaccinated.  In saying this, I'm not judging her but am just curious if it makes things difficult later in life, since I have no experience of this?

For example (and I know that this will sound simplistic), if I think of where I have had to show my kids' vaccination records, it would include the gym creche and daycare.  If your child hasn't been vaccinated, then have you had problems with childcare?

Also, what about travel?  Have you avoided countries where it is recommended that you get vaccinations up to date, eg Bali?

It's just a really genuine question, out of curiosity.  Not trolling.
Thank you for anything that you would like to share with me.

#2 Sockergris

Posted 10 January 2012 - 06:36 PM

My kids are vaccinated but I know that the non vaccinated kids at our school are excluded from attending for a certain period of time when a vaccine preventable disease breaks out.

#3 naturalgoodness

Posted 10 January 2012 - 06:45 PM

My children are not vaccinated. They have attended gym creche, childcare and school. We travel to Bali regularly.

We have completed the objection form, had it signed by the doctor and lodged it with medicare. We are advised at any location that if there is an outbreak we will be excluded and are fine with this.

As the kids gets older it becomes talked about less and less and people no longer ask. It hasn't effected us in any negative way at all.

#4 Belly82

Posted 10 January 2012 - 06:48 PM

QUOTE (naturalgoodness @ 10/01/2012, 07:45 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>