Maternity Leave

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 blanky88

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:17 AM

Hi guys,

I'm totally new to this so I'm just getting the hang of how things work around here Tounge1.gif

I'm from Melbourne and due on 13 September and was wondering whether anyone else has thought about maternity leave and how long they are planning on taking off before your due date?

I've spoken to a few people and who said that when you get really big, things get really hard and you struggle to go to work, stay awake etc. Personally I'd like to work as much as I can up to the due date, but unsure what the 'norm' is. Anyway, any feedback would be nice original.gif

xx

#2 Tigerdog

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:21 AM

The first baby I hated my job and was a sook so I went off 8 weeks before - 6 weeks general prior to birth as well as 2 weeks' sick leave.  Second baby I went off on the Friday and had the baby not the Monday immediately after but the next Monday, so I only had a week to do last-minute household jobs and preparation.  Whilstever you feel well, stay at work (if you want to stay longer than 6 weeks before the birth your workplace may need a weekly dr cert -mine didn't bother asking so I just coasted through!).

Edited by Tigerdog, 30 May 2012 - 10:22 AM.

#3 More cheese Gromit

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:23 AM

I worked til my due date, it was hard at the end*im on my feet for the entire shift* but it' was worth it to me, now I get to have all of my maternity leave with my baby

#4 whatnamenow

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:26 AM