Welcome to the Lo-Fi, text only version of Essential Baby's forums.

The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Home - Become a Member - Login - Forums
Full Version: Thermomix Special Back On
HOME | CONCEPTION | PREGNANCY | BIRTH | BABY | TODDLER | KIDS | LIFESTYLE | TOOLS

Essential Kids > Shopping > Hot Specials
Miss 50s
It's gone up to $999 this time though.

http://www.costdeal.com.au/team.php?id=173
jalmd
Are they really normally $1939?
Bek+3
Has to be too good to be true. What's the catch and where are they getting them from so cheap. There is only one importer and I doubt they would sell them off to a reseller for this?
Scootaloo
QUOTE (jalmd @ 31/03/2012, 12:50 PM) *
Are they really normally $1939?



yyes.gif But anyone I know who has one says they are worth every bit of it.

Jen
Miss 50s
QUOTE (jalmd @ 31/03/2012, 12:50 PM) *
Are they really normally $1939?


Yep!

Here is what they are saying on the Thermie forum about it

http://www.forumthermomix.com/index.php?topic=9373.0

Hope it's ok to post that one!
Daisy Goat
It says you can 'self collect" so at least you col go and see it first
Anita02
Has anyone bought a thermomix from these guys? At that price it sounds too good to be true
intd242
I think that the whole thing is going to end pretty nasty.

The following extract from their website sounds like something you'd read on e-bay from sellers knowingly selling a knock off and pretending otherwise. Probably the ones that were for sale in Target!

___________________

"Others

Serious Buyer Only! Please click "Buy now" only if you agree the price and terms of the product.
We strive to source genuine products from the suppliers. However, if you feel any of our products violate your Trademark, Patent Right or any other Intellectual Property Rights, We will remove any offending listing immediately while awaiting further discussion."
intd242
Also, if you 'google street view' the address, it seems to be a dud & there are weird chinese characters on this webpage view - http://www.costdeal.com.au/team/current.php
Miss 50s
Hmmm I'm really curious about this. You pay with PayPal so surely that is some protection?
Mummy2RyanandAlex
Has anyone purchased one?
WinterIsComing
Hmmm....collect from Silverwater?

May be a batch of stolen goods.
playnice
I'm confused...it says "delivery included" so does that mean you don't have to pick up? The last deal looked like you had to pick up the machine.

Also I'm getting suss about the warranty as if you go to the "Questions" tab a couple of people have asked about whether the machine has Australian plugs and WARRANTY but they only seem to answer the Australian plug question and not the warranty question.

Does anyone know if it has a warranty?

Is this a legit deal? unsure.gif
~Sorceress~
I think somebody on the Thermomix forums confirmed it has a 2 year warranty original.gif . If I weren't on a totally tight budget this month I'd be seriously scraping together the funds for a second TMX biggrin.gif - mine is now out of warranty and I'd love a backup!
Bek+3
I would absolutely love a second Thermomix too and am seriously considering this offer. DH says I can have another TM if he can have another guitar and I agreed, woot!! I often have days where I cook up an absolute storm and this will be fantastic.

At the end of the day, this website accepts Pay Pal so if anything goes wrong, that's my insurance. I wouldn't be at all surprised if they were refurbs but I certainly don't think they are fake.
playnice
QUOTE (~Sorceress~ @ 03/04/2012, 07:11 AM) *
I think somebody on the Thermomix forums confirmed it has a 2 year warranty original.gif . If I weren't on a totally tight budget this month I'd be seriously scraping together the funds for a second TMX biggrin.gif - mine is now out of warranty and I'd love a backup!


Thanks Sorceress original.gif
Stellajoy
Think we are going to get one today. Called them and yes there is a two year warranty and they are being bought from the supplier Vorworx?

and they are selling them at a loss to launch a the new website and company which is a week old.

so while still a risk, we are doing it, and are covered should anything go wrong via credit card insurance.


ETA: we just bought one. decided it was worth the risk for a super cheap thermomix!
intd242
Still think this will end badly - but anyway ... if you read the thxforum, apparently the sellers don't have any in their possession at the moment (ie selling something they don't actually have) and are planning on placing the order following the sale end - good luck with that!

I think this has scam written all over.
qak
QUOTE (intd242 @ 31/03/2012, 04:06 PM) *
Also, if you 'google street view' the address, it seems to be a dud & there are weird chinese characters on this webpage view - http://www.costdeal.com.au/team/current.php


The address seems ok on street view to me - is in an industrial estate called Junction Estate, although it probably would be nice to know what unit they are in.

The "weird Chinese characters" say something like "current group buy special" according to a workmate.

Given the other crap they are selling I personally would not buy, but I was not interested in a Thermomix anyway!
Sinister Bonnet
I would want to know how Vorwerk could possibly be selling to them when Mazur has a distribution deal with Vorwerk for the Australian territory.

Even when you look at the countries where the tmx is significantly cheaper than Australia, none of them are as low as this price.

It will be a good score though if it is legit and with paypal involved, it is hard to see how they will pull a scam.

fairyflossfart
QUOTE (intd242 @ 03/04/2012, 09:28 AM) *
Still think this will end badly - but anyway ... if you read the thxforum, apparently the sellers don't have any in their possession at the moment (ie selling something they don't actually have) and are planning on placing the order following the sale end - good luck with that!

Ozsale, brandsexclusive and a host of other sites do the same thing with some sales. Nothing new.
runnybabbit
QUOTE (Stellajoy @ 03/04/2012, 06:58 AM) *
Think we are going to get one today. Called them and yes there is a two year warranty and they are being bought from the supplier Vorworx?

and they are selling them at a loss to launch a the new website and company which is a week old.

so while still a risk, we are doing it, and are covered should anything go wrong via credit card insurance.


ETA: we just bought one. decided it was worth the risk for a super cheap thermomix!


Stellajoy can you please keep us updated on whether you wind up with a brand new TM31 in your hot hands? biggrin.gif
Mummy2RyanandAlex
I emailed the company a few days ago and asked a few questions, I am yet to hear back.
I have also sent them a question on the web page asking the same questions and it has not been put up yet.
I was also going to live chat them, but I have never caught them online.
Stellajoy
I'll update if anything happens.

Their theory could work... They now have a very cheap replica eames lamp on as a deal.

Stellajoy
Update... it wasn't a scam but it didn't work out, they couldn't order them. Got a full refund promptly.
qak
Did not enough people order (I thik that was the 'catch')?
Bek+3
What a shame. sad.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.